About Us

The Western Australian Naturalists’ Club, noted as one of the oldest conservation groups in Australia, is a lively organisation designed to cater for all the environmentally conscious members of the community. Founded in Perth in 1924, the Club is a respected and vibrant society that provides for a wide span of interests for the amateur naturalist and the professional environmental scientist.

The Club has two co-Patrons namely Professor Lyn Beazley AO, Honorary Institute of Advanced Studies Distinguished Fellow (UWA) who accepted this honour in 2015, and the Honourable Kerry Sanderson, AO, CVO who accepted this honour in 2021. The late Barbara York Main OAM, UWA Adjunct Professor, School of Animal Biology was co-Patron with her husband Bert Maine from 1999 and later with Professor Lyn Beazley until her death in May 2019, aged 90.

All branches of natural history and conservation are covered in a full program of meetings, excursions, workshops and the occasional social event. These include bird watching, botany, spotlighting, fossicking for fossils and fungi, observing habitats from forests to reefs as well as learning more about environmental issues in Western Australia such as soil salinity, introduced flora and fauna, land degradation, and climate change.

Members receive a monthly newsletter and a refereed scientific journal, The Western Australian Naturalist twice a year. Both publications allow members to be aware of all activities within the club and the broader happenings of the scientific world.

We also have a website where our activities and events are published, and through which you can apply to become a member. Our meetings and our Facebook group allows you to connect with members and other people interested in our natural environment.

The Club also responds to topical environmental issues and makes submissions to government on behalf of its members. Club members are invited to raise issues of concern with the Club. Members are encouraged to notify the Club of any concerns on a regular or case by case basis.

The Club’s Office and Library is located in central Perth. The Club’s overall management is vested in the Council.

Club Branches

In addition to the Main Club, there are three branches, one in each of the eastern, northern and southern suburbs. Also, there are two special interest groups namely Bushwalking and Fungi Study. Activities are also held for young naturalists, those under the age of eighteen. See the Youngnats page for details. Members are entitled to participate in all branch and group activities.